Teriyaki Turkey Burgers

For some reason I have an aversion to posting regular recipes, you know, the ones that use the ingredients already my fridge type recipes. I always feel like “post-worthy” recipes should be hard and impressive, but really it’s the every day recipes I should practice, and the everyday recipes that are useful to other people. Anyway, this recipe is completely worthy of being posted, it’s delicious, and easy to make. It’s a great weekday dinner recipe, but I think also useful for summer barbecues.

Now usually when I make recipes like this, burgers or meatballs or meatloaf, I just eyeball the seasoning. I sprinkle the spices I like enough that when it’s all mixed in I can see little granulars of spice. For this recipe I measured out teaspoons of spice, but I still recommend the old eyeball test.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ingredients

makes about 5 burgers

1 pound of ground turkey

1/2 teaspoon onion powder

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

3/4 cup of bread crumbs, divided

1 egg

1/2 cup of teriyaki sauce (I used Trader Joe’s Island Soyaki), plus some extra sauce for other things

5 slices of pineapple (I used canned, but by all means uses fresh)

5 buns

Instructions

1. Put the ground turkey in a bowl

2. Add the onion powder, garlic powder, black pepper, 1/4 cup-1/2 cup of breadcrumbs.

3. Add the egg and teriyaki sauce

4. Using your hands mix and mash and squish is all together. If the mixture feels too sticky, as in you can’t really make a patty or it’s all stuck to your hands, then add the remainder of the bread crumbs.

5. Once everything is all mixed together, make patties! Mine were about 3/4 of an inch thick. You can make them whatever size works best for your tastes. I made 4 regular sized ones and 1 sort of small one.

6. Heat a skillet (or grill, or George Forman grill) and cook the burgers. We used a skillet set about medium-high (a number 7 on the dial) and instead of using oil we cooked it in more teriyaki sauce to give the burgers more flavor. The burgers should take about 4 minutes per side.

7. Optional: if you have a griddle pan, grill, or George Forman take the slices of pineapple and grill them. This shouldn’t take long at all, it should be a quick sizzle, just enough to warm the pineapples and create those beautiful dark grill lines. Ryan and I didn’t do this as we don’t have a griddle and my George Forman grill is packed up in a box from my New York apartment – but we totally would once I unpack it!

8. Put the burgers and pineapples on the bun and then put a dollop of teriyaki in the hole of the pineapple. EAT!

2 thoughts on “Teriyaki Turkey Burgers

  1. Pingback: Ryan’s Trick for Perfect Looking Meatballs | cooking is messy

Leave a Reply

