Rooibos Tea Cookies

This is the tea I used in the cookies

This is the tea I used in the cookies

I’m a big fan of tea. There’s about 8 different kinds of tea in my pantry. Last year, I talked so much about wanting to try blooming tea, that both Ryan and my mom bought me bags of blooming tea for Christmas. When I lived in New York, my friend Emily and I went to Sanctuary T, where we took a class on making tea-infused cocktails. It was pretty awesome because they let us get behind the bar and shake around the cocktail shakers like we were legit.  And more recently, Ryan indulged me with a tea-tasting date at Living Social. And also, a shout out to my friend Emma, who is a big supporter of my tea interests (and was nice enough to comment on my last post). Emma used to work at Teavana, and is a dangerously good salesperson. She’s sold me mint chocolate tea, fancy tea cups, and the most fragrant, colorful, and fruity rooibos tea. Rooibos is my favorite. It’s an herbal tea that often has lovely fruit flavors in it.

So I was super excited when I found this recipe because not only could I use my favorite tea, but I had also never cooked with tea before. These cookies turned out great, and were a pretty good crowd pleaser. I brought them a football watching party at my friend Charlotte’s, and I think they went over pretty well. To paraphrase Charlotte’s husband, he said they didn’t look that interesting but there was much more to them. Then, I took them to work a few days later and they were devoured. One coworker called them “super tasty” and another asked for the recipe.

While baking, these cookies fill the kitchen with an almost chocolatey scent. The cookies themselves taste like warm creamy vanilla and bright, sweet raspberries. It’s lucky they are so good, because after about 3 days they get a bit hard. They still taste good, but it’s best if you eat them quickly. And now you don’t have to feel bad if you eat a lot in one sitting, because I just told you to do it.

Also, what’s cool about this recipe is that you  make it just in the food processor. I’d never made cookies in the food processor before, and I liked doing it because I wasn’t dirtying multiple bowls. However, in the beginning while chopping up the tea leaves, the food processor was emitting a fine tea-sugar dust. You can see a picture below under the second instruction. In short, although you don’t need a lot of utensils for this recipe, it’s secretly messy. And of course it’s messy, what else would you expect from me?

This recipe is adapted from Food52.

Ingredients:

1/4 cup plus 1 tbsp granulated sugar

2 tbsp rooibos tea (it was about 4-5 whole leaf tea bags)

1 vanilla bean (whole, ends trimmed, cut into 4 pieces)

1 1/4 cup flour

1/4 powdered sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 tsp milk

1/2 cup unsalted butter

1 1/2 tbp raw sugar (I used 2-3 packets I took from Starbucks)

Ingredients:

1. Heat a small pan on medium. When the pan is hot, add the rooibos tea. Make sure tea is in a even layer. Toast the tea for about 2 minutes. The tea will start to smell delicious and that is when you know you’re done toasting. Don’t let the tea burn or get blackened.

2. Combine the granulated sugar, vanilla bean, and tea in a food processor. Pulse for about 2 minutes, or until there are no chunks of vanilla bean.

look at that tea cloud in the top right!

look at that tea cloud in the top right!

3. Add the powdered sugar, flour, and salt. Mix for a little bit until everything is combined.

photo 2

4. Add the milk, vanilla, and butter. Pulse until a dough forms.

5. Lightly flour your counter or work surface. Take the dough out of the food processor and put it on your work surface. Gather the dough and roll it all together until you have a log that’s about 1.5″ in diameter. Note: I also think you could gather the dough into a disk, and then later roll out the disks and use cookie cutters to make shapes.

6. Wrap it with plastic wrap and put it in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes.

photo 3

7. Heat oven to 375°.

8. Line your baking sheet with parchment paper.

9. Remove log from freezer and cut off 1/2″ slices. (Or make different shapes if you want to)

10.  Place cookies on your baking sheet about 1/2″ apart. Bake for 10-12 minutes until the edges are a bit down.

photo 5

11. Let cool for about 5 minutes, then eat!

photo 4

2 spoonMessy level: Not so messy because everything is done in the food processor. Usually I have tons of flour flying around when I mix cookie dough, but here everything was pretty self-contained (except for the tea dust floating out). Also the dough isn’t very sticky so clean up on the counter, the baking sheet, and your hands is a snap!

One thought on “Rooibos Tea Cookies

Leave a Reply

