What to do with Chocolate Pasta?

image (12)Yesterday, I bought chocolate pasta and I don’t know what to do with it. Here’s the story, I was going to a show at Ford’s Theatre and I had almost two hours to burn between the end of work and the start of the show. I decided to spend a little bit of that time browsing through Sapore, a store in Eastern Market, that sells fancy olive oil and vinegar. They also have herbs, salts, and pastas. It was such a pleasant shopping experience. The sales employee at the store was so friendly in such a warm and genuine way, that he didn’t feel like a salesperson, but instead like a favorite family friend giving me cooking and food advice. He also complimented my sweater, and I like flattery, so that was an added bonus. But what is really great about the store is you can taste test all the oil and vinegar.

Throughout the store there are jugs of oil and vinegar, and next to them there are small tasting cups and pieces of crusty baguette bread for dipping. I tried a basil olive oil that made me feel like I was sitting outside at a cafe in Rome eating a caprese salad. I tried a blood orange oil that had a nice tangy citrus accent. And I tried a thick syrupy dark chocolate balsamic that tasted like a decadent and sinful dessert. I held myself back though, and just bought a delicious smelling rosemary olive oil that I knew I could use often. I also bought a jar of caramelized garlic because the man from the store raved about it and I like garlic.

And then I also bought the chocolate pasta because I just had to know what it tasted like. There was more practical flavored pasta, like mushroom, sweet potato, and lemon basil – but those will have to wait for another time. I bought the chocolate pasta.

But what do I do with it? My first thought is to make a dessert take on spaghetti and meatballs. I could make some kind of fruit cookie-ball thing and then make a fruit sauce to go on top. But there’s so many other options – berries, Irish cream, whipped cream, nutella….

What would you do with it?

5 thoughts on “What to do with Chocolate Pasta?

  1. If you can make a bird’s nest with the chocolate pasta, How about some Mole over chicken breast. Some sprinkles of white cheese, Cilantro!

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Pasta – A Horrible Disappointment | cooking is messy

Leave a comment