Lemon Ricotta Pancakes with Caramelized Apple Topping

DSCN0703Apparently there aren’t pancakes in London.

Last week a few of Ryan’s soon-to-be British coworkers were in town spending a few days in the D.C. office. We went out to dinner with them one night and we started discussing the things Ryan and I might miss once we cross the pond. We said baseball and Mexican food. They said we could watch cricket and that there is Mexican food in London but it’s not as good as stateside. They also said the hot wings aren’t as good (sigh, add that to my D.C. bucket list). And they said we wouldn’t be able to find American style pancakes.

Well that’s fine, but “can’t I make them at home?” I asked. They said no. We couldn’t get a straight answer as to why I couldn’t make them at home. We’ll see if I can figure out the answer once I’m there. But until then, I need to make sure I eat pancakes.

I got this recipe from Food & Wine Magazine. I was so excited when I saw it because it reminded me of brunch in my favorite place in New York. However, this recipe might be even better because the apple topping is so darn delicious. Truly, so good I think it’s worth making all on their own.

Directions:

2 tbsp unsalted butter, plus more for greasing the pan

2 crisp red or pink apples (F&W recommends Honeycrisp. I used Pink Lady)

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup sugar (divided in half, 2 tbsps each)

1 1/2 tsp lemon zest

Kosher salt

1 1/2 cups flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 1/2 cups milk

3 large eggs, whites separated from yolks

1/2 cup ricotta cheese

Instructions:

1. Peel and core the apples. Chop them into 1/2 inch, bite sized pieces.

2. Using a large skillet, melt the 2 tbsp of butter at medium-high heat. Add the apples, cinnamon, 2 tbsp of the sugar, 1/2 tsp of lemon zest and a pinch of sugar. Stir occasionally. Make sure the apples get coated with the sugary juices from the pan. Cook for about 5-7 minutes until the apples are tender.

DSCN0340

3. In a large bowl, mix together the flour, baking powders, and the rest of the sugar.

4. In a medium bowl, stir together milk, egg yolks, ricotta, and remaining lemon zest. Slowly whisk these ingredients into the dry ingredients. Mix until just incorporated.

5. In a large bowl, beat the egg whites until they form stiff peaks. I highly recommend doing this with an electric mixer because it takes a long time with the mixer and even longer by hand. Add the egg whites to the rest of the batter.

DSCN0694

6. On medium, heat up a griddle or large skillet. Grease with a bit of butter. Scoop about 1/4 cup of batter onto your griddle or skillet. Cook until bubbles appear on the surface of the pancake (1-3 minutes). Flip. Cook until the pancakes are golden brown. Probably about 2 minutes longer.

7. Put on a plate. Top with apple mixture and maple syrup!

DSCN0705

2 spoonMessy level: Just two spoons, and only because you have to use so many dishes throughout this recipe.

3 thoughts on “Lemon Ricotta Pancakes with Caramelized Apple Topping

  1. Pingback: London Food Myth Buster (Or things I found at the grocery store) | cooking is messy

Leave a comment